Nominations open for QI Awards


Is your hospital adding quality and innovation to the healthcare industry?

Have your achievements recognised by submitting a nomination for the Australian Council on Healthcare Standards' 2018 Quality Improvement (QI) Awards.

Applications are open to the 1,450-plus members of local, national or international ACHS healthcare facilities and the nearly 700-strong ACHS Clinical Indicator Program members.

The annual awards, first held in 1997, promote the development of excellence in achieving quality improvement, while showcasing innovative thinking and advancements across the healthcare industry.

“Private hospitals are focused on quality improvement and I’m sure a number of them will nominate for this award,” Australian Private Hospitals Association CEO Michael Roff said.

There are three categories for this year's QI Awards:

- Clinical excellence and patient safety
- Non-clinical service delivery
- Healthcare measurement

The winners – who also receive a cash prize – and 'highly commended' entries will be announced at the ACHS Annual Dinner, held on Thursday 22 November in Sydney.

Nominations can be made at the ACHS website. The closing date is Friday 7 September.

Last year, Royal Brisbane Women's hospital won the award for clinical excellence and patient safety in acknowledgement of its 'Kidney Supportive Care' program.

Adelaide's North Eastern Community Hospital won the non-clinical service delivery category for its implementation of an electrochemical water treatment system which has reduced bacteria, helped sterilisation and cut costs.

The healthcare measurement award went to Nepean Blue Mountains Local Health District for its 'Breathe Better' initiative to reduce length of stay for chronic obstructive pulmonary disease patients at Blue Mountains Hospital.


Comments are closed.