San doctors awarded for helping care for the community


The inaugural San Dr Awards were launched at the first Doctor Gala Dinner held by the Sydney Adventist Hospital (the San) earlier this year.

The awards recognised some of the hospital's 1,100 accredited medical officers for their passion and expertise. Awardees were nominated by their peers and hospital staff.

Long-serving and much revered San Gastroenterologist Professor Brian Jones was awarded The San Dr Award for his altruism, compassion, integrity and leadership, educative and mentorship role concurrent with a holistic approach in caring for the body, mind and spirit of patients.

Noting that he is retiring after 33 years at the San, Professor Jones was characteristically humble about his award.

“The San is just a unique institution.

“Every day working with the staff was a highlight. They are all great people and they have an ethos that makes the hospital special. Everybody cares compassionately. They really do.

“You can’t encapsulate how great they all have been. I’ll miss them terribly,” he said.

The prestigious San Dr Academic Award was awarded to San Urologist Professor Henry Woo in recognition of his leadership and innovation, and commitment to education and skills sharing.

Professor Woo is a Professor of Surgery at the University of Sydney, a Foundation member of the academic staff of the onsite Sydney Adventist Hospital medical school and has been involved in clinical trials and publication of research findings.  He says it is a privilege and honour to be recognised with the San Dr Academic Award for his academic work.

“Research is part of the DNA of all people who study medicine and receiving this award is an example of how the San environment can be conducive to excellence in clinical research.

Teaching and sharing knowledge is a fundamental part of what we do as doctors.”

The San Dr Community Services award was awarded to San Cardiothoracic Surgeon Dr Ian Nicholson OAM.

An order of Australian recipient in 2014 and finalist for the Australian of the Year in 2016, Dr Nicholson has carried out more than 50 volunteer life-saving heart missions in the South Pacific, South America and East Africa with the San supported humanitarian aid program Open Heart International. Appropriately, Dr Nicholson was overseas operating in Tonga on the award evening.

Nominees for the San Dr Award included:

Dr Greg Bennett, Dr Rod Brooks, Dr Andrew Booker, Prof Greg Falk, Prof Simon Finfer, Dr Andrew Fong, Dr Lawrie Guitronich, Dr Peter Illes, Dr Auriel Jamieson, Prof Brian Jones, Professor Rod Kuo, Dr Adrian Low, A/Prof Gavin Marx, Dr Greg McDonald, Dr Adam Osomanski, A/Prof Stephanie Phillips, Dr Graeme Rich, Dr Jason Sharp, Dr Christine Shearman, Dr Viswanathan Venkatachalam, Dr Michael Wines.

Nominees for the San Dr Academic Award included:

A/Prof Michael Hughes, Dr Auriel Jamieson, A/Prof Gavin Marx, Dr Karen Mizia, Prof Henry Woo, Dr Keith Ong

Nominees for the San Dr Community Service Award included:

Dr Ian Nicholson OAM, Dr Gillian Rothwell, Dr Adam Osomanski


Comments are closed.