Nominations open for safety and quality award


Nominations for the Australian Council on Healthcare Standards (ACHS) 2017 ACHS Medal are now open.

The ACHS Medal recognises individual efforts to improve safety and quality that are in line with the Council’s goals.

ACHS Chief Executive Officer, Dr Christine Dennis said safety and quality continue to be two areas that can make a sustainable difference in the delivery of healthcare.

“When they are prominent there is usually a strong individual making a noticeable difference and our goal is to recognise their exceptional efforts made over the course of their career.

“The ACHS medal provides an opportunity to further promote the work of an individual who has made a strong contribution in their particular field of health, by highlighting the improvements being made in safety and quality,” Dr Dennis said.

The four criteria to determine the award winner are: substantial achievement on research into quality and safety of health systems, distinguished leadership in quality practices, outstanding achievement in maintaining a continuous quality improvement focus in health care delivery systems, and outstanding achievement in the promotion of quality in health care.

The honour 2017 ACHS Medal will be the 34th year the award has recognised outstanding achievement in the promotion of quality and safety in health care in Australia.

Recent recipients of the medal include; Professor Bryant Stokes AM (2016), Dr Sahadulla (2015), Kae Martin (2014) and Adjunct Professor Christopher Brook PSM (2013).

The closing date for nominations is 5pm on Friday 8 September 2017, a form for nominations can be found on the Council’s website.


Comments are closed.