Nominations open for HESTA nursing and midwifery awards


Private hospitals had major success at the 2021 HESTA Nursing and Midwifery Awards, with finalists in all three categories – and now it is time to recognise a new set of healthcare heroes.

Nominations have opened for the industry super fund's 2022 awards, which will celebrate the nurses, midwives, nurse educators, researchers and personal care workers who are improving health outcomes by providing outstanding care and support for Australians in need.

The $30,000 prize pool is split between the winners of each category: Nurse of the Year, won in 2021 by Shannon Philp of Chris O'Brien Lifehouse; Midwife of the Year, in which Melanie Boulter of John Flynn Private Hospital was a finalist; and Outstanding Organisation, won by Ramsay Health Care Australia.

With the COVID-19 pandemic now deep into its second year, HESTA CEO Debby Blakey said nurses and midwives had been essential to keeping communities healthy and safe.

“Nurses and midwives have been so critical to our ongoing recovery from COVID-19. We wouldn’t be where we are today without them,” Ms Blakey said.

“The positive impact they have had, and will continue to have, on patients’ lives is humbling. HESTA is truly honoured to help recognise these wonderful and dedicated professionals and help share their stories.

“I encourage all Australians to consider submitting a nomination and help show support for nurses and midwives and their achievements.”

Employers, colleagues and patients can nominate a nursing or midwifery professional who has demonstrated leadership, innovation and pursued excellence to deliver high-quality patient care.

The deadline for submissions is Sunday 6 February 2022, and the finalists will be announced on Tuesday 12 April 2022– with the winners revealed at the awards ceremony in Melbourne on Thursday 19 May 2022, pending COVID-19 safety restrictions.

For more information, visit the HESTA awards website

HESTA is the Australian Private Hospitals Association's Diamond Sponsor.

Read more: Private hospitals win prestigious HESTA awards

Read more: 2021 HESTA Excellence Awards winners named


Comments are closed.