Finalists announced for the Australian Mental Health Prize 2016


The finalists for the new Australian Mental Health Prize recognising excellence in breaking down mental health stigma have been announced.

The seven finalists are recognised for their work in mental health including: suicide prevention, youth mental health, mental health first aid and mental health nursing.

The finalists are:

  • Annette Baker
  • Betty Kitchener
  • Ian Hickie
  • James Prascevic
  • Joe Williams
  • John Mendoza
  • Kim Ryan

Chair of the Australian Mental Health Prize Advisory Group, Ita Buttrose said that nearly half of all Australians will experience mental illness in their lifetime and that it is extremely common.

“The aim of this prize is to help reduce the stigma often associated with mental illness, and raise awareness of some ground-breaking and life-changing work that is going on in Australia in relation to mental health,” she said.

With more than 130 submissions from across Australia, Professor Phillip Mitchell Head of the University of New South Wales (UNSW) School of Psychiatry was impressed with the calibre of submissions, especially for the first year of the prize.

“Australia is a world leader in many aspects of mental health, including raising community awareness, public advocacy and the provision of innovative services, so it is heartening to see some of this work, and the people who are undertaking it, get this well-deserved recognition,” Professor Mitchell said.

The prize was established by the Australian Mental Health Prize Advisory Group, a group of eminent Australians, in partnership with the UNSW.

It recognises Australians who have made outstanding contributions to either raising awareness of mental health, or the prevention/treatment of mental illness.

The winner of the Australian Mental Health Prize will be announced at a formal award ceremony event at UNSW on 7 December 2016.

To find out more about the finalists click here.


Comments are closed.