Australia Day honours 2016: The private hospital sector


The Australian Private Hospitals Association congratulates the altruistic individuals from the private hospital sector who have had their achievements recognised in this year’s Australia Day honours list.


Dr Timothy Michael Cooper: For significant service to medicine in the field of plastic and reconstructive surgery as a clinician, and to professional medical associations.

Dr Cooper operates at a number of hospitals in Perth, including APHA member facilities The Mount Hospital (Healthscope), Subiaco Private Hospital and Hollywood Private Hospital (Ramsay Health Care).

Mr Robin Anthony Crawford: For significant service to the community through leadership roles with cancer support, mental health and social welfare groups.

Mr Crawford served for a number of years on the Chris O’Brien Lifehouse board. He left his position in 2015. He is also a founding director of Macquarie Bank.

Professor Mari Botti

Professor Mari Botti

Professor Mari Angela Botti: For significant service to nursing, and to medical education, as an academic and author, and to pain management research.

Professor Botti is the Epworth Deakin Chair of Nursing – a position she has held since 2004. She coordinates the Bachelor of Nursing (Honours) program, is Chair of the Deakin University Human Research and Ethics Committee, and a member of the Epworth Human Research and Ethics Committee. Professor Botti also leads the Epworth Deakin Centre for Clinical Nursing Research.

Professor Mark Frydenberg: For significant service to medicine as a clinician, educator and author in the speciality of urology, and to professional medical organisations.

Professor Frydenberg is a urological surgeon at Epworth HealthCare’s Richmond campus. He is recognised for his commitment to researching and improving the prostate urological medicine.

Dr Brian Thomas Spain: For significant service to medicine in the discipline of anaesthesia, as a clinician, to healthcare standards, and to professional medical bodies.

Dr Spain is a long-serving anaesthetist at Healthscope's Darwin Private Hospital.

Paula Jean Penfold: For significant service to the community through support for people with Muscular Dystrophy, to child health ethical standards, and to medical research.

Ms Penfold is a founding and active member of the Muscular Dystrophy Association of Queensland. She was previously a senior clinical nurse and research assistant at Ramsay Health Care’s Greenslopes Private Hospital.

Kym Robina Stuart: For significant service to nursing through a range of voluntary roles throughout the developing world, particularly in Asia and the Pacific.

Ms Stuart is a volunteer perioperative surgical assistant nurse with Open Heart International (formerly Operation Open Heart). She worked as a surgeon’s assistant at the Sydney Adventist Hospital until 2005, and helped establish the Operation Open Heart project.

Mr James William Dwyer: For significant service to the community through fundraising support for youth, health care and medical education initiatives, and to the law.

Mr Dwyer has an affiliation with St Vincent's Private Hospital Sydney as a member of its Capital Campaign Road program.


John Cunningham

John Cunningham

Mr John Edward Cunningham: For service to medicine, and to the promotion of immunisation.

Mr Cunningham is an orthopaedic surgeon at Epworth HealthCare’s Richmond campus. He was awarded Fellowship to the Australian Orthopaedic Association in 2011, and has maintained a steady pace of conducting and publishing research for the last two decades.

Miss Kathleen Ellen Bright: For service to women, and to nursing.

Miss Bright is a retired nurse who worked at a number of hospitals throughout her career, including Healthscope’s Campbelltown Private Hospital. More recently, she has been involved with the Country Women’s Association and the United Hospitals Auxiliary.

Mr Mervyn Reid: For service to veterans and their families.

Mr Reid has helped veterans through various organisations including through the RSL’s South Eastern District based at Ramsay Health Care’s Greenslopes Private Hospital.


Two individuals with a connection to the Sydney Adventist Hospital (the San) were named Australian of the Year finalists.

Heart surgeon Dr Ian Nicholson was one of four New South Wales finalists, while palliative care advocate Yvonne McMaster was a New South Wales finalist for Senior Australian of the Year.

The San's Dr Ian Nicholson was a NSW finalist for Australian of the Year.

Dr Nicholson was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia in 2014, in recognition of his volunteer work with Open Heart International.

A former palliative care specialist at the San, Dr McMaster’s path towards being a palliative care advocate began after she retired in 1998 and signed up to run a cancer support group at the hospital. Her dedication earned her an Order of Australia Medal in the general division in 2014.

Read more about Dr Nicholson and Dr McMaster’s nominations here.


Comments are closed.